WIAW – a Double Run Means More More Food Pictures

WIAW – What I Ate Wednesday

Yesterday morning I met a friend at Matthews/Winters Park for a trail run. The park is right next to Red Rocks Amphitheater where I saw the very talented Ben Harper play last week. Or TRIED to see him through the haze.

I ate a Cliff Bar on the way. It’s not the healthiest of bars, but through trial and error it’s the one that doesn’t make me feel like I’m going to vomit if I exercise 30 minutes later..

IMG_7341[1]

Here is how Jefferson County describes Matthews/Winters Park:

Hogback offers a different recreation experience, with a steep climb up to the hulking ridge between plains and foothills.

Garsh, between a “different recreation experience” and a “hulking” ridge, this park really promised a lot.

Here is another fun/boring fact, which you can skip if you already know about geology. A hogback is a line of rock formations above the ground, exposed by erosion. I’m sorry you wasted your time if you made it to here.

OK! So we ran about 5 miles and chatted our little hearts out.

MW Park

IMG_7326[1]

Then I got home and cooked up the same breakfast I’ve been consuming for the past 6 months, subject to change on weekends.

  • 1/2 cup oats ground up in the food processor
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxmeal
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 ripe banana, mashed with a fork

IMG_7329[1]

Mix that all together so it looks completely inedible. Now microwave for 1 minute 30 seconds to 2 minutes, most of the liquid should be absorbed.

Now take a heaping spoonful of almond butter or peanut butter (the more runny the better) and drizzle it on top. I know, I used two disgusting words in one sentence, gah. Then add crushed nuts!!! Weee, it’s fun. Not really, because it’s usually early and I’m hungry. But eating this before work lets me know that everything is right in the world.

IMG_7331[1]

Since I was home for lunch today, I could make a salad extravaganza. In the mix is spring salad, cauliflower, red onion, carrot, feta cheese, dressing. I eat it in a large mixing bowl like any self-respecting person would.

IMG_7335[1]

IMG_7336[1]

With some baked tofu and ketchup. Doesn’t that look appetizing. I like plain food as a condiment to my ketchup.

IMG_7334[1]

As an afternoon snack I ate some of these Lemon Coconut Protein No-Bake Bites (except I baked them) with crunchy peanut butter on top.

IMG_7337[1]

In the evening I went to White Ranch Park with my trail running group. We did a 6 mile loop and as usual the views of Golden and Denver were awesome.

White Ranch Run

IMG_7339[1]

And then I came home and ate this delicious (despite how it looks) Tortellini Tomato Spinach Soup. Even better as leftovers.

Tortellini Soup

I read more of the Assassin’s Quest by Robin Hobb. If you’re looking for 2,000 pages of pure reading enjoyment, this is the series for you.

The end.

Leave a Reply

