WIAW – Yoga and Fish Tacos

WIAW – What I Ate Wednesday

This morning I made peanut butter-topped banana flax oatmeal and every bite was comfort and joy. And then had 3 cups of iced half-caff coffee from the french press and 2 cups of ginger tea not in that order. Mmm I love coffee and things that contain ginger. Or really anything that can help with the ulcer forming in my stomach from all the coffee…

Banana Oatmeal

I had a ahhhmazing snack of almond butter chocolate chip pumpkin bars. Plural.

IMG_7481[1]

I’ve made two batches already – one with peanut butter and one with almond butter – both incredible. I don’t have coconut flour so I subbed regular all-purpose flour.

For lunch I had a salad supreme. Included in the mix is spinach, 2 hard-boiled eggs, avocado, broccoli, tomatoes, carrots, feta cheese, and my favorite dressing.

Salad

I went to my beloved Wednesday yoga class and it was amazing as usual. I wish my taxes or health insurance went to providing free yoga classes, that would be delightful.

Some people like to quantify and put in numbered list form the benefits of things like SUPER!FOODS and WHY YOU SHOULD SLEEP!, and yoga is no exception. According to these articles, there is anywhere from 38 to 77 ways it will make you live forever. That’s a lot! If you read the second link it basically says your blood will course with magic and you will turn into a unicorn!!

More and more evidence supports the use of mind-body therapy like yoga as a clinical treatment. Yoga can decrease stress and improve mood in those with anxiety and depression, help treat or alleviate the symptoms of neurological disorders like MS and epilepsy, and reduce the risk factors associated with cardiovascular disease. And it fights poverty and world hunger too!

That got a little rant-y. To show you my self-deprecating side: I just started going to yoga recently after not going for a long time. So see, I’m off my high horse.

Dinner was fish tacos. Super easy, super quick.

IMG_7362[1]

I now have two books going. In addition to Assassin’s Quest by Robin Hobb (number 3 in the trilogy), I’m now on page 200 of 6492 in Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand. I have avoided it in large part because the length scared me (I like to keep my reading options mostly light and breezy), but now I’m realizing what a fool I’ve been to have skipped on this masterpiece for nearly three decades. The plot and character development in that book is magnificent, I tell you.

The end.

Leave a Reply

