Holiday Reads

Along with the whole seeing-friends-and-family thing, I like going home because it’s a good time for me to read compulsively. Long airplane and car rides to see family? Read. Hanging out on the Metro for 1.5 hours? Read. Sitting in front of a fireplace with yet another cup of tea? Read.

Holiday Reads

I read three books during my trip home. I realize these are not new by normal standards, but since all of my books come from the library two of these are ULTRA CURRENT. Here they are subjectively ranked from favorite to least favorite:

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Quite the epic love story. Without trying to sound magniloquent (I looked for this word for a while), this book was rich, poetic, insightful. Whew, that felt pretentious. Anyways, I liked the book overall and it made me think about the ways in which people/I live their/my live(s). Goody! for introspection.

The not-so-good: the ending was not as satisfying as I had hoped. That is all.

Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I had hopes that this thriller would be like Gone Girl since it was compared to it a bajillion times. It wasn’t, but I still enjoyed it as a fun, quick read. As the Boston Globe noted: “Like its train, the story blasts through the stagnation of these lives in suburban London and the reader cannot help but turn pages.” Totally.

The not-so-good: the main character is a drunk and it gets tedious. I reached my compassion fatigue threshold halfway through the book. Also, I read this review on Amazon and liked it (even though I’ve never read A.G.): “There is also the Agatha Christie cliché of the culprit at the end spilling the beans about what really happened while someone is (figuratively) tied to the railroad tracks.”

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

I like a good post-apocalyptic/survival novel. This one did not fulfill all of my hopes and dreams. I would point you here, here, and here before this book. Yes, one of those recommendations is Hunger Games.

I will refer, again, to an Amazon review since this person is better with words/intelligence than what I can muster:

“Well written snooze of a book, which is not so much interested in a creative look at the after-effects of a pandemic as it is digging about in dead character’s pasts and flogging a degrees of separation theme and ending with comic books acting as deus ex machina [<– whoa, sweet use of Latin/Greek!]. In spite of setting the stage with the trappings of a ravaged world, none of the characters that interminably travel across that stage actually do much. There is no depth of experience or sense of real menace or urgency proportional to an end of civilization in this story.”

….totally.

The next three books I would like to read are:

One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Now I need to read GGM’s book that is “said” by “people” to be better than LITTOC. Do acronyms like this make you angry?

Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks. Plague + witch hunting, enough said.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. In an effort to succeed in reading 10 classics as mentioned in my 30 before 30 list, this is next.

Have YOU read any good books lately? Tell me!

The end.

 

 

Leave a Reply

